Well begun is half done”

How/Where to start the grand journey for CSE troubles 9/10 Aspirants. When I entered the race in 2012, I didn’t even know what Optionals meant. And the result was that I blindly followed what I heard!

With all the experience that I have gained wrt CSE, I am sharing here how an Aspirant shall start Preparation (1 year cycle):

  • Prepare static portions of Mains like GS-1 full and GS-4 full. This can be done along with optional or just after optional. With this, static portion of Mains is over.
  • GS-1 Strategy A2Z
  • GS-4 Strategy A2Z

Notes making is absolutely must.

  • Follow a concise booklist for prelims. Dedicate 5-6 months for prelims preparation, covering 2 readings of sources along with notes making.
  • Prelims Strategy A2Z
  • Left over time till prelims shall be dedicated to revision of prelims notes and papers.

Join here for free UPSC guidance from Mudit Jain, IPS-15, IPS-16, IRS-18, Author of Decode CSATDecode EssayDecode GS2Decode Ethics 4.0 & Decode History Books

Ethics book referred by CSE 22 Toppers: AIR –76, 91176189249, 288, 297, 299326356, 476, 541, 611, 616, 700, 737, 739, 746 & others

History book referred by CSE 21 Toppers: AIR – 44, 212, 572, 653 & others

Find PDFs of All Decode Series Books Here

There is no need of coaching for GS. Self study is the way to go.

  • GS-2 & GS-3 are mostly current oriented and shall be prepared after prelims only.
  • Focus on your overall personality throughout the year. Develop concepts.

Make and follow a daily timetable. 

  • Learn-adapt-adopt from strategies but follow what suits your style of preparation. Do not change/look for new strategies every 2nd day.

Further inputs:

Concise booklists: MAINS GS CONCISE BOOK / SOURCE LIST & Prelims CONCISE book list

Related CSE strategies: Mudit_jain _upsc

My CSE notes: DecodeCIVILS

ATB!!!

2 responses to “HOW TO START CSE PREPARATION?”

  1. Rohit Dewangan Avatar
    Rohit Dewangan

    Hello Sir,

    My name is Rohit Dewangan. I have been following you from last 4 months on quora. I want to know what should be my strategy if I have 2 full years to prepare for CSE(as I have just given my 4th semester examination). Also, I have commenced my CSE journey with the beginning of my college life but I have realised that I am quiet slow (given one full semester to INDIAN POLITY). For answer writing I relied on INSIGHTS (writing 2 answers each day) but in this too, I take approximately 18 minutes to write an answer. Is it possible to prepare for this exam without going to Delhi?. Kindly help me with these problems.

    Thankyou.

    1. DecodeCIVILS - Mudit Jain Avatar

      It is good that you have started early.. don not worry about speed at this moment..just keep moving ahead..follow some sort of timetable to keep you on track..

      These days format is such that delhi is no more a panacea for preparation. You can manage it online.

Leave a Reply

Designed with WordPress

Discover more from DecodeCivils by Mudit Jain

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading