Hello, I am Rekulwar Shubham. I secured AIR 790 in UPSC CSE 2023. I come from Telangana. I did my graduation from IIT Guwahati in Civil Engineering. It was my 4th interview. Optional is PSIR.

You can connect him on Instagram and Telegram

Journey

  • First Attempt, First Interview: Though cleared Mains with good margin, I got very less marks (140) in interview. Missed the list by 12 marks. (In hindsight, it took me six years to bridge this gap of 12 marks).
  • In 2nd attempt, I couldn’t clear Mains.
  • In 3rd attempt, I went on to interview stage, but again fell short of marks in interview.
  • Later, I went back home (during Covid times), and appeared in two consecutive Mains. But could not clear Mains both the times.
  • Last year (CSE-22), I appeared in interview, but poor marks in PSIR, I missed the list again.
  • This year (CSE-23), finally, I found my name in the list.  

Coaching

  • Foundational coaching at Vajiram did help me. My hand written notes at Vajiram are still my primary books of reference for basics of core subjects (Polity, Economy, Modern History, Geography and Art and Culture).
  • Later, during Mains I took, Dipin sir current affairs classes for last 2 years mains. For Ethics and Essay I took Peeyush sir lectures, which I believe helped me.  

Shubham is member of DecodeCIVILS Mains and Interview Telegram Groups

Prelims Strategy

I cleared all the prelims I appeared. I’ll give the strategy in detail.

  • Firstly, your basics of core subjects shall be strong. No matter which Prelims paper you pick, this core will help you sail through 40% of the paper, some directly and some indirectly.
  • Second, role of PYQs. I solved 20 years prelims papers before starting the test series in my first attempt. This helps immensely to understand demand of UPSC and also prioritise topics/ themes for study. Solve them topics wise, not year wise. You can purchase any book available in market with solved prelims PYQs.
  • Third, current affairs. Pick any Prelims magazine and revise it at least three times. Once you do PYQs, prioritising current affairs becomes very easy.
  • Fourth, role of test series. Pick any institute’s complete test series package (I did Vision’s 35 test tests every time). Doing complete set is important because, the test series package is designed such that it helps you to finish entire syllabus and current affairs, along with proper revision. 
  • Post-test, proper analysis is very important. Divide questions into 3 categories.
    • Those which you attempted correctly,
    • Those where you attempted incorrectly, and
    • Those where you have no idea. For this category, go back to original source material and revise it again. By this you can fill the gaps in your preparation.
  • Also, time management of the 2 hours in exam hall is very important. After first round of going through entire paper (which will take around 1 hour or so), bubble all the questions where you identified answers. After that, bubble each question individually.
  • Also, how many questions you are going to attempt decide by analysing your accuracy level in mock tests. Also, difficulty level of paper in actual prelims you should analyse and attempt accordingly. I use to attempt above 85-88, where question paper is not very tough, and 75-82 where question paper is very tough.

Neither Let CSAT Ruin Your Prelims Nor Read 900+ Pages for 66 Marks! DECODE CSAT IN 280 PAGES!!

Interview Strategy

My scores in 4 interviews were 140, 145, 157 and 198.

  • In my first interview, my idea with respect to interview preparation was that it is not the test of knowledge and I don’t have to be thorough with the content. So, I was very ill prepared, and it reflected in my answers and hence in marks.
  • This year, I did my DAF properly, preparing topics in Q&A format.
  • Also, I used to have daily discussions on google meet in groups created by Study IQ. These discussions helped immensely in framing answers, structuring opinions and learnings from each other. Attended around 10 mocks, which also helped to analyze my preparedness.

How Shubham Dealt with Recurrent Failures?

Firstly, I was fortunate enough to have very supporting family. Then, as I was working as freelancer in the UPSC industry, that helped me to continue preparation for long.

And, I started reading books. I always had this interest in reading books, but I started doing it more regularly. This journey, perhaps I would have never sustained without the books I read. (You can find some of my readings and reviews on my Instagram or LinkedIn page).

Books ensured that I never lose faith in myself. Most importantly, I always believed that I am so close to clearing this exam. And throughout my failures, I know was growing as a person. I have seen the darkest phase, which was unbearable while it lasted. But once I sustained through it, I knew I could handle any failure, I can bear any setback.    

The most important lesson I learnt was, as long as you link your happiness to outcome of this exam, or any external aspect for that matter, you will never be happy. Even if you clear the exam, you will be searching for that happiness. Happiness is a choice you make every day. This is the biggest lesson I learnt.

As I read books, there are many quotes which inspired me. I’ll add one such quote here.

“And once the storm is over, you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.”

Haruki Murakami

Join here for free UPSC guidance from Mudit Jain, IPS-15, IPS-16, IRS-18, Author of Decode CSATDecode EssayDecode GS2Decode Ethics 4.0 & Decode History Books

Ethics book referred by CSE 22 Toppers: AIR –76, 91176189249, 288, 297, 299326356, 476, 541, 611, 616, 700, 737, 739, 746 & others

History book referred by CSE 21 Toppers: AIR – 44, 212, 572, 653 & others

Find PDFs of All Decode Series Books Here

CSE-23 Topper Strategies:

1) Medha Anand AIR-13 Socio + Comprehensive

2) Romel Bijalwan AIR-353 Anthro + Comprehensive

3) Samiksha Mhetre AIR-302 Comprehensive

4) Aditya Hriday Upadhyay AIR-416 Maths + Comprehensive

5) Prerna Singh AIR-271 Journey + Learnings + Comprehensive

6) Abhinav Jain AIR-35 Journey + Comprehensive

7) KN Chandana Jahnavi AIR-50 3/3 Selections + Socio + Comprehensive

8) Rohit Sattawan AIR-997 Prelims & Mains Booklist + FAQs

9) Dr. Subhadharshini AIR-83 Motivational Journey + FAQs

10) Megha Dinesh AIR-268 Sociology + Comprehensive Strategy

11) Anushka Karnwal AIR-435 Economics + Comprehensive Strategy

12) Rajat Tripathi AIR-515 FAQs

13) Dr. Ritika Aima AIR-33 Journey & Learnings from 186 to 33

14) Romit Bhatt AIR-390 Journey, FAQ & History Optional

15) Anjali Thakur AIR-43 Sociology + Prelims + Mains

16) Bidipto Sarkar AIR-987 Comprehensive

17) Apoorv Balpande AIR-546 Philosophy & Comprehensive

18) Vaibhav Rathore AIR-717 Economics & Comprehensive

19) Benjo P Jose AIR-59 Prelims Comprehensive

20) Shivansh Singh AIR-164 Anthropology & Comprehensive

21) Manav Jain AIR-634 Comprehensive

22) Rimita Saha AIR-566 Anthropology & Comprehensive

23) Ghulam Maya Din AIR-388 Medical Science & Comprehensive

24) Hardik Chandel AIR-304 4 Prelims 4 Mains 3 Interviews 2 Selections

Leave a Reply

Designed with WordPress

Discover more from DecodeCivils by Mudit Jain

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading