Background and Journey

First let me start by introducing myself. I am Ketan Ashok Ingole. In CSE 2023 I have secured an All India Rank 610. I come from Washim district in Maharashtra. I have completed my MBBS from GMC Aurangabad (Ch. Sambhajinagar) in 2021. It was after internship and during my bond completion that I started preparing for UPSC. I gave my 1st attempt in October 2021 while working as a Medical Officer at a rural PHC with Medical Science as Optional. Post that I realized that the exam is not as easy as it sound to be.

Hence I left my job and came to Delhi and joined GS foundation classes at Vajiram and Ravi in Nov 2021. During classes itself I gave my 2nd attempt and failed to clear it. During my 2nd attempt I had switched my Optional to Anthropology but hadn’t read it till prelims.

You can contact him on Instagram

After taking a few days’ break I resumed studying. I made a clear plan of Completing ESSAY, ETHICS and Optional before starting preparation for prelims. During this time, I regularly read THE HINDU but never made notes out of them. But I jotted down examples that I thought were unique or could be used somewhere.

When to Start Preparation?

In my honest opinion, everyone has own timing and own challenges. But the ideal time is to give the exam after graduating and when the syllabus is completed at least once.

Timetable

It was pretty simple. My day was divided in 4 sessions. I stuck to single subject throughout the day.

  • 1st session – 9 am till 1 pm
  • 2nd session – 2 pm till 5 pm
  • 3rd session – 5:30 pm till 8 pm
  • 4th session – 9 pm till 10:30 pm

In 1st session I planned two things. A new subject or new topic and something to revise. In 2nd session it was newspaper and MCQ solving (GS/CSAT) or answer writing. In 3rd session & 4th session – again new topic.

Neither Let CSAT Ruin Your Prelims Nor Read 900+ Pages for 66 Marks! DECODE CSAT IN 280 PAGES!!

Prelims Books, CSAT Strategy, Mains Books, Optional Strategy and Books

Prelims

SubjectSource
Ancient historyRS Sharma
Medieval HistoryClass Notes and Satish Chandra
Modern HistorySpectrum
Art & CultureClass notes
PolityLaxmikant + PT365
EconomyMrunal sir’s notes + PT365
S&TPT365 + Biology ncert selected chapters
EnvironmentShankar IAS + PT365
GeographyNCERT + ATLAS

For prelims I made quick revision notes for S&T, Env and Economy.

For CSAT, I didn’t prepare separately. Solved around 5 papers in total.

Mains

PAPERSUBJECTSOURCE
GS1HistoryEd-Sarrthi’s material
 GeographyPYQ analysis and NCERT
 SocietyClass Notes and Mains 365
   
GS2Polity, Governance and Social JusticeMagna Carta Notes by Atish Mathur sir and Class notes + Mains 365
 International RelationsMains 365
   
GS3EconomyMains 365
 AgricultureMains 365 + Class notes
 S&TMains 365
 EnvironmentMains 365
 Disaster ManagementShivin sir’s notes
 Internal SecurityShivin sir’s notes
   
GS4Theory PartAtul girg sir’ book
 Case studyMudit sir’s approach
   
Essay Mudit sir’s approach and collected few poems, anecdotes from topper’s copies

For Mains, rather than notes focused more on formulating arguments that can be used anywhere. Collected data, examples, mnemonics etc and revised them just before exam.

Join here for free UPSC guidance from Mudit Jain, IPS-15, IPS-16, IRS-18, Author of Decode CSATDecode EssayDecode GS2Decode Ethics 4.0 & Decode History Books

Ethics book referred by CSE 22 Toppers: AIR –76, 91176189249, 288, 297, 299326356, 476, 541, 611, 616, 700, 737, 739, 746 & others

History book referred by CSE 21 Toppers: AIR – 44, 212, 572, 653 & others

Find PDFs of All Decode Series Books Here

Optional

Had not taken any classes for Anthropology. Used YouTube videos to understand tough parts. Took help of friends where I could not understand.

I referred to EMBER AND EMBER, UPADHAY AND GAYA FOR THEORIES, P NATH FOR PHYSICAL PART, D K BHATTACHARYA AND NARAYAN AMIT NOTES FOR ARCHEOLOGY. FOR PAPER 2 I COMPLETELY RELIED ON MANDAR PATKI SIR’S NOTES AND XAXA COMMITTEE REPORT. I ALSO REFERRED TO AKSHAT JAIN SIR’S AND VIVEK BHASME SIR’S TEXTBOOKS AND LAGHIMA TIWARI MAAM’S NOTES. Here also made Quick Revision notes for Paper 2

At all stages of preparation, the most important thing is PYQs. They give you the exact idea about the topics, depth of preparation and how to approach the answer. For prelims, I researched on all PYQs since 2015. Made notes on the paper itself. I also made a list of topics that were confusing for me and revised them repeteadly.

As for my revision strategy, I focused more on active recall. I wrote a lot during prelims and mains as well. I also mugged up certain things that I used to recall. In short, I revised daily and regularly. I made it a point to revise yesterday’s topics first thing in the morning to achieve retention better.

With that I also gave lot of OPEN mock tests. During the early part of prelims preparation, I attempted subject-wise tests of VISION and FORUM SFG. And later on, I attempted FLTs of nearly all institutes and gave almost all OPEN mock tests. However I always revised PYQs. I used to score between 70-90 in these tests and rarely scored above 100.

Answer Writing Strategy

The first and most important thing is to understand demand of the question. Underlining the keywords and understanding what the question is about is very important.

  • INTRO – Either definition of keywords if any or decoding the statement in simple and short sentence by either agreeing or disagreeing with it.
  • BODY – Used subheading by keywords from the question itself. Then giving arguments to support with evidence or example.
  • CONCLUSION – A short futuristic / forward looking statement with respect to demand of the question.

For answer writing, I focused more on addressing the demand rather than on content.

NOTES – I will update the link when uploaded.

CSE-23 Topper Strategies:

1) Medha Anand AIR-13 Socio + Comprehensive

2) Romel Bijalwan AIR-353 Anthro + Comprehensive

3) Samiksha Mhetre AIR-302 Comprehensive

4) Aditya Hriday Upadhyay AIR-416 Maths + Comprehensive

5) Prerna Singh AIR-271 Journey + Learnings + Comprehensive

6) Abhinav Jain AIR-35 Journey + Comprehensive

7) KN Chandana Jahnavi AIR-50 3/3 Selections + Socio + Comprehensive

8) Rohit Sattawan AIR-997 Prelims & Mains Booklist + FAQs

9) Dr. Subhadharshini AIR-83 Motivational Journey + FAQs

10) Megha Dinesh AIR-268 Sociology + Comprehensive Strategy

11) Anushka Karnwal AIR-435 Economics + Comprehensive Strategy

12) Rajat Tripathi AIR-515 FAQs

13) Dr. Ritika Aima AIR-33 Journey & Learnings from 186 to 33

14) Romit Bhatt AIR-390 Journey, FAQ & History Optional

15) Anjali Thakur AIR-43 Sociology + Prelims + Mains

16) Bidipto Sarkar AIR-987 Comprehensive

17) Apoorv Balpande AIR-546 Philosophy & Comprehensive

18) Vaibhav Rathore AIR-717 Economics & Comprehensive

19) Benjo P Jose AIR-59 Prelims Comprehensive

20) Shivansh Singh AIR-164 Anthropology & Comprehensive

21) Manav Jain AIR-634 Comprehensive

22) Rimita Saha AIR-566 Anthropology & Comprehensive

23) Ghulam Maya Din AIR-388 Medical Science & Comprehensive

24) Hardik Chandel AIR-304 4 Prelims 4 Mains 3 Interviews 2 Selections

25) Rekulwar Shubham AIR-790 7 Prelims 7 Mains 4 Interviews

26) Abdullah Zahid AIR-744 Motivational Journey & Strategy

Leave a Reply

Designed with WordPress

Discover more from DecodeCivils by Mudit Jain

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading